Maybe They Should Try Satire…

Need a chuckle?

I was reminded today about a couple of online sites that are just as critical of the church as our friends on WSGR, but for a different reason, and they use humor to get their message across.  If you need a good chuckle, check these out.

The Wittenburg Door – the classic satirical magazine.  Probably harder on Benny Hinn than Johnny Robertson.  Note the caution on the right hand side that reads, “Caution:  The Wittenburg Door is not right for everyone, including those who may be pregnant with religiosity or may be thinking of becoming righteous.”  They mean it.

The Lark – The new satirical kid on the block, but they can be pretty funny.  Not offensive.

On both of these, think if Christians ran The Onion.

12 thoughts on “Maybe They Should Try Satire…

  1. The Wittenburg Door, or simply “The Door” as it’s called among many theological students, used to be banned on the campuses of a lot of seminaries.

    Students (and not a few professors) read it anyway 🙂

  2. Not to pull a “thread jack”, but I have received a couple emails from someone from the “Mother & Daughter Duo”. They wanted my opinion on something that happened on the station Johnny is on. After being filled in on the events I basically said I couldn’t comment on something I didn’t see and that I don’t have a dog in that fight.

    Looks like you folks are a hotbed of controversy.

  3. Funny you say that Corey, controversy is what drives these programs that our local church of Christ preachers have each week. Lee, Truth, Rick and others know exactly what I am referring too. I guess it makes for a good show if you can go into a denominational church armed with a video camera and then ask some questions and go back and run it for a few weeks on air – its much like the Jerry Springer show, and that’s not poking fun, but the honest truth. Or, you could film preachers while in their cars and then go back and talk about how they are talking money from the church people and living it up. This is the controversy we have here….having said that, I am not bothered by it that much. It makes good entertainment and attracts more viewers to their programs, where they might hear some of their teaching. The controversy make a good magnet…sort of smart on their part. But, I rather hear more preaching/teaching and less of the drama.

  4. How are you not bothered by that? I am extremely bothered by it. That is NOT a way to attract people to hear some of their teaching-if that is their goal, that is a terrible way to go about it because they are losing respect and credibility. The truth doesn’t need all of that-it should be able to stand alone. But they won’t let it, so they have to make it into a Jerry Springer show to liven it up. I don’t see anything smart about it at all.

    I don’t understand why they cannot just preach Jesus and His message instead of trying to prove everyone else wrong and shoving cameras in people’s faces. It is downright disrespectful not to mention un-Christian.

    That is just how I feel 🙂

  5. I am not going to be able to do much posting and commenting. For those interested in hitting this same topic..head over to Scotts blog. Katherine, please go there and see if you can add some insight from your POV. Walkinglove, you will find Scotts blog quite a challenge. I really like talking with , even though I disagree. Hope he doesn’t mind, but I would call him hyper-conservative….check him out @ http://godsbreath.wordpress.com/

  6. On August 14, 2008 at 1:50 pm Katherine Said:

    “I don’t understand why they cannot just preach Jesus and His message instead of trying to prove everyone else wrong and shoving cameras in people’s faces. It is downright disrespectful not to mention un-Christian”.

    I would have to agree. Until I saw part of the video of Johnny’s Martinsville Church of Christ Sunday morning worship, I had assumed that our coC guys just used their T.V. program to attack other churches and ministers in the area. The video of JR’s church’s worship service demonstrated that they even spend precious worship time to seek to “destroy” those they disagree with. Maybe they need a “cleansing of the temple” experience to learn the true purpose of worship.

  7. i can plat you a chord of three ropes if you like.
    would you want any nails, glass or bone embedded in
    them? sorry….. thats only available in our cat o nine
    model.
    lee

  8. On August 14, 2008 at 1:50 pm Katherine Said:
    How are you not bothered by that? I am extremely bothered by it. That is NOT a way to attract people to hear some of their teaching-if that is their goal, that is a terrible way to go about it because they are losing respect and credibility.

    – I was mostly making light of the situation. Let me put it this way: Some people can preach the gospel and the gospel will be the magnet; others must reply on controversy and other methods to attract people. When I said it doesn’t bother me, I really meant that it doesn’t get me upset because I think most of the time it’s funny seeing people have to resort to such extremes to make their point. They have freedom to act that way if they so chose, and if that lifts their ego, more power to them. Low self esteem calls for desperate measures. When I said it was smart on “their part” , I didn’t mean it was wise or the best idea – I just meant if they cant draw folks with the gospel and sound preaching, it was smart of them to seek other avenues, seeing they lack what it takes to draw the people with sincere gospel preaching. How often does anyone even hear Jesus preached on their shows?? I haven’t watched them for over 6 months, so maybe they do preach Jesus and His work on the cross. I just know the past that they didn’t preach Jesus and His work on TV….if so it was a passing comment and then back to controversy. Lee, do they preach Jesus and the cross now, or it is still the same ‘o thing ??

  9. no jesus.
    why is it that you dont watch?
    to me its like an impending train wreck, i cant look
    away. wake up randy and stop giving them so much slack.
    a fence post is difficult place to make progress from.
    i dont like what these men are doing and as ive said
    earlier john is only lulling some of you to sleep.
    john use this on your show, you can show all the
    witty comments between me and faithless.
    morning faithless.
    your brother
    lee

  10. On August 15, 2008 at 8:00 am lee Said:
    no jesus.
    Lee: why is it that you dont watch?

    Randy: I dont see the need to watch it, thats all. If they taught more bible – I would.

    Lee: to me its like an impending train wreck, i cant look away. wake up randy and stop giving them so much slack.

    Randy: I understand that Lee – It can be compared to a wreck or something…ya dont want to look, but you still do. I think they know this too.

    Lee: a fence post is difficult place to make progress from. i dont like what these men are doing and as ive said earlier john is only lulling some of you to sleep.

    Randy: Im not sitting on any fence post Lee – Im just not gonna allow myself to be anti-Johnny just for the sake of others. Johnny isnt putting nobody to sleep – I know quite well how the game is played and I go with the flow, thats all. Sometimes the best move is to play along, play dumb, play back, play their games, and sometimes its best not to play at all. Life is sometimes like Chess – you have to think way ahead…

Leave a Reply

