Sunday, August 3 – Prayer Day for Johnny, Norm and James – Part II

As happened back at the beginning of June, recent events here have convicted me again to not allow this blog to degenerate because of the wild postings of a rambling man.  It is not what the blog is supposed to be, and it is not what I want it to become.

Here’s what I wrote back in June, and it’s being reapplied today, but updated:

When the people who represent the doctrine that this blog discusses are people who seem to revel in stirring things up and getting people riled up (regardless of what is motivating them to do this), then it is easy to find ourselves getting comfortably in a permanent defensive posture.  Johnny Robertson’s visit yesterday just underlines how easily that can happen.

I don’t want this blog to be a place that Johnny, Norm and/or James can give to their supporters and say, “Look at how I am being treated!  I must be doing something right if they are so upset at me!”  Rather, I want it to be a place where the three men would see the love of Christ exhibited.

I would ask my regular commenters to consider the following Scripture passages:

A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another (John 13:34).

But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you (Luke 6:27-28).

Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse (Romans 12:14).

We work hard with our own hands. When we are cursed, we bless; when we are persecuted, we endure it (1 Corinthians 4:12).

Do not repay anyone evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody. If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. On the contrary: “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good (Romans 12:17-21).

Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing (1 Peter 3:9).

Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates his brother is still in the darkness. Whoever loves his brother lives in the light, and there is nothing in him to make him stumble (1 John 2:9-10).

Now, I am not saying that any certain people who have been posting here about the three TV hosts have been acting improperly.  However, I want this to be a place where Jesus’ name is honored, and I think one important way we honor Him is when we act like Him.

So, I invite you all to join me on Sunday, August 3 as I pray for Johnny Robertson, Norm Fields and James Oldfield, “faithful”, “TD” – and all hyperconservative church of Christ folks in general, but specifically the Martinsville church of Christ, the Danville church of Christ, and the Reidsville church of Christ.  Some suggested things we can pray for them:

1.  For the well-being of their families

2.  For their health  

3.  For Godly wisdom for those in leadership as they attempt to lead the churches where they teach and preach

4.  That Christ would dwell in their (and our) hearts through faith.  And that they (and we), “being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that [they] may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”  Ephesians 3:17-19

5.  That they would experience the true freedom found in being a follower of Christ.  “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free… If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.” John 8:32, 36

Won’t you join me in praying for these men this Sunday?

Thanks,

Nathan

9 thoughts on “Sunday, August 3 – Prayer Day for Johnny, Norm and James – Part II

  1. Nathan, I was already on the same page as you before you posted this. I know that God loves me and Jesus has saved me. All of us here knowing the love God has for us we need not to let these men make us fall away from what God has made us to be. There are those who will try to make us stumble. When this happens the best thing we can do is give it over to the Lord and pray. I will pray that these men will someday see the love of God and His light will then be able to shine in them.

  2. Good word, Truth.

    And when others come onto this blog, I don’t want them to see a big fuss all the time. We should be acting Christlike towards one another, because we all claim to be Christians. Christlikeness doesn’t mean no discussion, no debate, no argument – but it does mean that we treat each other with respect.

    Jesus treated the Pharisees with respect, it was the Pharisees that disrespected Jesus.

    Nathan

  3. Definitely! I really do pray that they will one day truly know the true love, grace, and freedom found in Christ so they can put down their agendas, desire for power and control; and humbly submit to the will of God.

    I think you also meant Sunday, August 3rd in your post, but I will pray for them the 4th, too 😉

  4. Sure. I’ll pray for them. I have been praying for them for some time now, even.

    It’s pretty obvious that they will not be convinced of the harm they are doing by any human effort. It will literally take a miracle from God to show them.

    But even then, it’s their choice.

    I’ll pray they have the wisdom to make the right one, and abandon what they are doing.

  5. Let’s pray for faithful/Mitch especially.

    There are none so blind, as those who refuse to see.

    But if the Lord could open the eyes of Saul on the Damascus Road, maybe He will be just as graceful to Mitch/faithful.

  6. It’s not just about them, faithful.

    Read over the post again – because the three TV men are the face of your belief system in our area, they are part of the focus of this time of prayer. I also included you and TD, faithful, and other who believe as you do.

    And you need to know that the prayers I am praying for you all have been sincere prayers for the things I listed. Not vindictive, not angry, not spiteful. Not that ya’ll become like me, or see things exactly the way I see them.

    It’s not about me. It’s really not even about ya’ll. It’s about Jesus.

    I’ll post the passage again…

    “being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that [they] may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”

Leave a Reply

