Dress to Impress

Chris Knight, over at theknightshift.blogspot.com, reports that Johnny spent some time on Sunday night’s broadcast talking about how important it is for people to “dress nice” for church.

I recently read this great story dealing with that issue in the CofC:

“One Sunday morning the congregation of a hyper-conservative Church of Christ had a stir. A man came in just minutes before the service was to begin and he was dressed horribly, was stinking, had on old boots, torn overalls, a dirty flannel shirt, and a dusty cowboy hat. The congregation was aghast! Many quickly sent notes to the minister about this concern.

At the end of the services the minister greeted the humbly dressed man and asked him if he enjoyed the service. The man exclaimed that he enjoyed it very much. The minister asked the man to consider possibly dressing differently, and taking a shower. He told him to pray to Jesus about how he would have him dress if he should return again. 

The next week the man returned. He was dressed the same and once again the congregation was disturbed. At the end of the service the minister greeted the man again and asked him what he had been told by Jesus concerning his how to dress for church. The man exclaimed. “I spoke with Jesus about this, but Jesus said he didn’t know how I should dress for “this church” because He has never been here.

“Found here

And to be fair, this story could be told for any denomination, not just the Church of Christ denomination. (I use that word purposefully, btw.)

10 thoughts on “Dress to Impress

  1. this story is a total fabrication… no “Church of Christ preacher” would tell anyone to talk to Jesus and ask for an answer about anything!

  2. Yes, Cecil Hook has some great material and he use to be a hard liner cofC Preacher at one time. He sheds some light on many of the issues we see from our local cofC legalist. You can also go to the site and they will send anyone around 10 books for no cost at all.

  3. Now I understand we should go to a site and be led by a comic book and some more of mans’s opinions and teachings instead of the Bible. Well at least it sounds good and it makes me laugh. Oh but I forgot we are not going to be judged by it at Judgment day but by the word of God.
    Joh 12:47 And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.
    48 He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.
    49 For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.
    50 And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.

  4. Nice bit of proof texting John. The proof texting bit will have to be on my next top ten list.

    However, the problem with proof texting is that it is often a misuse of the Word, because it discounts things like context – which is vital in the study of the Word of God. Otherwise, it’s like you’ve got a Harry Potter-esque book of magic spells that you can pull out to prove a point.

    Now, in this case, you are using John 12 to argue against the validity of the Cecil Hook website. Well, this is nothing but a strawman argument. If you look at that site, you’ll see that the authors spend the majority of the time examining the Word of God – not proof texting – but expositing the Word for the sake of understanding and clarity. I may not agree with all of his conclusions, but I’ve no doubt that he is not mishandling the Word.

    I don’t know you, John, and have only been introduced to you recently through your comments on this blog. However, I do see traces of that same proof texting tactic in you that I’ve seen in other Church of Christ folks, and I want you to know that you should be very, very careful of such a practice.

  5. hello again, faithful. It’s been a long time.

    As to your statement:

    If I asked you to provide a BCV for that statement, I assume you’ll mention Ephesians 5:25-27 and other verses, and that if the church is His bride, then they are one (like when a man marries a woman and they become “one flesh” (Mark 10:8). So, as with me – if a person slanders my wife, it’s like they are slandering me – it is the same with the church and the Lord. Am I correct in my interpretation of your statement?

    Well, actually I agree. This is why I defend the church of Christ that exists universally – within and without denominations. The Lord’s church can include folks within “Church of Christ” assemblies, but also faithful Christians in any other gathering “where two or more are gathered in [His] name” (Matt 18:20).

    I’m so very sorry to have to be the one to break the news to you, but this includes faithful Christians in denominations.

  6. I have noticed that Scott at http://godsbreath.wordpress.com/ has been addressing many of the issues we often discuss. I think he pretty much agrees with Johnny and crews teaching, but he seems to be nice about it anyways. I like reading his comments and blog.

Leave a Reply

