My Kind of CofC Attitude

In my daily online readings, I found a blog from another CofC preacher with whom I could fellowship.  Thank goodness for CofC men like this!  They give me hope for the Church of Christ folks out there.

He wrote:

“I make the case for a cappella music in the assembly like Everett Ferguson makes it. He examines the NT passages, considers the life of the early church, and considers any theological significance to the practice. The New Testament delivers and reflects apostolic teaching, and playing is not mentioned. For 600 years instruments were not used. Jesus alwasy led us to the heart of the matter and perhaps the theological significance of apostolic teaching reflected in the epistles is the heart involvement in singing.

I make this case. And I believe it. I believe and teach that instrumental music in the worship assembly is outside of God’s will.For many people, the case for a cappella music is strong and convincing. I am among them. Many of these people I have found have a heart for God, a great desire to please him, and their lives reflect their commitment to godliness.

For many people, the case for a cappella music is weak and unconvincing. Many of these people I have found have a heart for God, a great desire to please him, and their lives reflect their commitment to godliness.

Those who contend so vigorously against the case for a cappella music would do well to admit that those of us who believe it are not stupid, we are not all legalists, and we don’t come to our conclusions without evidence.

Those who contend so vigorously for the case of a cappella music would do well to admit that simply on the basis of godly people who don’t believe the argument, the case is not as cut and dried for some as it is for others. It is not like the works of the flesh that are obvious. Instrumentalists are not stupid, self-centered, nor do they draw their conclusions without evidence.

At the end of the day, many of us are going to believe just as we believed at the beginning. Some of us are going to have been convinced to change our minds in both directions. And we are going to have to deal with the bigger question of what do we do with each other; and the answer is going to refelct what Jesus is going to do with both of us.

Father, please deal mericfully with me. I want to do right, but I’m sure I’ve got some stuff wrong. Father, please help me deal mercifully with other children of yours who disagree with me.
In Jesus Name,
Amen

Found here.  

7 thoughts on “My Kind of CofC Attitude

  1. Great article !

    On another note, did anyone see Johnny and James on TV last night? It looks like Bill Wyatt and Johnny are fighting again. I think Bill raised some good pints regarding how Johnny is not respecting the young boys parents. For those who are in the dark, two young men were killed in a car wreck last week and it was reported that one of the young men may have been saved on his death bed. Johnny comes on TV days later condemning anyone who suggested that the young man could have been saved and has been talking about this for the last three broadcast, not even considering how this is making the parents feel. Its sad to see so-called preachers ( Johnny Robertson / James Oldfield )acting in a way that could only be described as Bill Wyatt said….EVIL

  2. I heard about it – would love to have heard what Bill had to say. And how bad must it be if Bill Wyatt gets riled up? He seems like the most even-keeled, mild-mannered person out there.

    Johnny is so dead set on proving folks wrong that he doesn’t stop to consider how much damage he might be doing to his own cause in the process. How does it possibly help him to get mixed up into this kind of argument? How can the people at Martinsville and Reidsville C’s ofC possibly stand behind Johnny and James on this? I’m amazed Norm doesn’t distance himself from this – even if he might agree with the doctrine that births Johnny’s perspective. Seems like it would just be bad for church growth.

    IMO, this ranks right up there with what Fred Phelps’ guys do – picketing at military funerals to make their points about homosexuality.

    Reprehensible.

  3. IMO, this ranks right up there with what Fred Phelps’ guys do – picketing at military funerals to make their points about homosexuality.

    He is doing what he condemned others for – least along the same lines. I think what he is doing is worse. These parents are hurt bad enough already and they don’t need Johnny and James coming on TV using their sons to promote their doctrine. I think Johnny has went to a new level of “low”.

    I wish the religious programs that are on Charles Roark station would pull off and go to Bill Wyatt’s station for Christian programs; maybe this would get Charles attention.

  4. I Samuel 16:7 reads from the King James Version, “But the LORD said to Samuel, ‘Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart’.”

    Does Johnny pretend to know only that which God knows–the heart of man? Only God and that young man know the interaction that took place between his spirit and God in his dying moments. Let us leave the jugement of souls to God where it rightly belongs while we do the task God has anointed to us: the proclaimation of the Good News of Christ’s life, death and resurrection.

  5. Richard May is right on!

    My argument in this whole discussion is not whether or not instrument are used (I myself prefer acapella) its the binding on others that gets me.

  6. There is a certain purity in hearing just singing you have to admit. If we add one thing, then we eventually have to add everything or anything. For my take on more of the church please read XXXXXXX.blogspot.com. I think you will find it interesting, as it takes you further than perhaps you might have ever gone before. Blessings

  7. Brother Paul,

    Someone contacted me and said that they tried to leave a comment on your blog, but that you didn’t approve it. If you aren’t going to allow discussion on your blog, I won’t be advertising your blog on this site. I’ve removed the URL, but will bring it back if you permit comments on your blog. You are still welcome to comment here as much as you would like – just not with your URL – unless you permit comments.

    Thanks!
    Nathan

Leave a Reply

