Shawn’s Gone…

Randy had to ban Shawn from his blog.  Shawn was harrassing, and so he had to be let go.  Is Shawn cut from the same cloth as our three CofC men?  Seems so, but it’s hard to say because they won’t come on either of our blogs and discuss the issues.

A poster named George on this blog criticized Randy for this action, but it’s no different than Johnny Robertson, Norm Fields and James Oldfield hanging up on harrassing phone calls!  

That being said, if Shawn would like to continue our conversation here on this blog, and he’s willing to be a bit more civil in the way he discusses things, I’d love to have it open back up.  Or Johnny, Norm or James, for that matter. 

61 thoughts on “Shawn’s Gone…

  1. Matt 7:6
    “Do not give what is holy to the dogs; nor cast your pearls before swine , lest they trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you in pieces.”

    If you would like further dialogue then please call my cell # that is on the web site listed below. Thanks.

    http://www.roysecitycoc.org

  2. I’m at a bit of a loss for words, seeing that Shawn would use that verse in context of a debate, where he is banned for trolling and bringing up a person’s past, and using the death of his debate opponent’s life in an un-Christlike manner.

    Matt 7:20: “Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.”

  3. You’ll be waiting quite a while. I like to discuss these sorts of issues out in the open for everyone to see. This way, our conversations have the potential for making a difference in someone’s life.

    By the way, you never did give me other Scriptural reasons for taking the Lord’s Supper other than the Acts passage – which you said you would do after I answered your questions, which I did.

    Would you like to pick it up here?

  4. …wonder why they dont follow Pauls example in Acts 17?? Oh, that’s right-that was on the sabbath. Wonder why they dont follow the example of selling all of their things per the example in Acts?? Wonder why they didnt try to restore their brother Jason back to the Lord, per the COMMAND? So much for following “The Pattern” Behold the Pattern-JESUS ! Not some man-made patterns, made up from ones view of an example. Jesus is the pattern!

  5. Shawn will not continue with this, seeing he knows how weak his arguments are….we, here at Martinsville are waiting .

  6. Shawn,

    Just a warning, I don’t put up with that trolling garbage on my blog. If that’s the way it is going to be, your comments will be instantly deleted.

    Warning #1 – there won’t be a second.

    Now, if you do want to continue our conversation in an adult manner, then you are more than welcome. Otherwise, enjoy your isolation.

    Thank you for cooperating,
    Nathan

  7. Shawn knows what he is doing; he wants to be booted off, so he can say we got angry because we couldnt defend our position and pulled him off. But the facts are Shawn dont want to talk about things for all to see and read….and when he is cornered, he resorts to name calling and things….Johnny once told me when a person cant defend their position that they would resort to attcaking the person and not his doctrine/teaching…..looks like Johnny was right about this

  8. “…wonder why they dont follow Pauls example in Acts 17?? Oh, that’s right-that was on the sabbath. Wonder why they dont follow the example of selling all of their things per the example in Acts?? Wonder why they didnt try to restore their brother Jason back to the Lord, per the COMMAND? So much for following “The Pattern” Behold the Pattern-JESUS ! Not some man-made patterns, made up from ones view of an example. Jesus is the pattern!

    Jason can come back any time he likes. He left on good terms. He was not withdreawn from.

  9. Who are you faithful? Hiding behind the walls are you? Jason left on good terms…thats about the biggest lie I have ever heard. Why do you guys keep trying to paint this picture when many know otherwise. Jason did NOT leave on good terms. He and Johnny had quite a bit to say to each other, not including the mens meetings which you should know about too. Come clean and stop trying to make people believe a lie….Jason left and now does not believe as he once taught…..

  10. Just a warning, I’ll troll if I jolly well feel like it.

    Warning #1 – there won’t be a second 😉

    Call me so we can agree on debate propositions so we can debate for everyone to see on Johnny’s T.V. program.

    Those who believe and practice the truth never fear investigation or debate.

    Cell # is (214) 616-8142.
    Still waiting

    A Message from The Moderator:

    Shawn,

    I appreciate you taking the time to respond on this blog. However, I made it very clear that if you aren’t going to participate in the discussion, and if you are going to continue bringing up the same point over and over without discussion, it would be considered trolling and you would be banned from the blog.

    Consider yourself banned.

    Now, if this is the way that a man who supports Johnny Robertson and company acts, how would Johnny, Norm or James act? I would guess the apple wouldn’t fall far from the tree.

    It’s a pity, because Shawn missed a great opportunity to let folks know what he teaches and why he teaches it. Instead, he went all obstinate on us. I would say that THIS shows folks EXACTLY what he teaches. The “why”? That I don’t know.

    Shawn, if you’d like to appeal the ban, I’m open to it. But, you know the rules – no trolling, and good above-the-belt discussion. Meanwhile, any comments you make after this will be deleted as swiftly as I can get to it each day.

    Sola Dei Gloria,
    Nathan

  11. You failed on the churchesofchrist blog so try this one…wonder if Jason would debate Johnny, now that would be good…

    edited by moderator

  12. come on HERE for everyone to read and see, not just your loyal FEW followers, who call in…….well I dont think Gene will call in like he use to 🙂

  13. Shawn,

    I appreciate you taking the time to respond on this blog. However, I made it very clear that if you aren’t going to participate in the discussion, and if you are going to continue bringing up the same point over and over without discussion, it would be considered trolling and you would be banned from the blog.

    Consider yourself banned.

    Now, if this is the way that a man who supports Johnny Robertson and company acts, how would Johnny, Norm or James act? I would guess the apple wouldn’t fall far from the tree.

    It’s a pity, because Shawn missed a great opportunity to let folks know what he teaches and why he teaches it. Instead, he went all obstinate on us. I would say that THIS shows folks EXACTLY what he teaches. The “why”? That I don’t know.

    Shawn, if you’d like to appeal the ban, I’m open to it. But, you know the rules – no trolling, and good above-the-belt discussion. Meanwhile, any comments you make after this will be deleted as swiftly as I can get to it each day.

    Sola Dei Gloria,
    Nathan

  14. faithful:

    You wrote:
    “I do think the site could not defend positions and that’s why the boot”

    What positions? Shawn wouldn’t discuss his positions. The posting he did here is pretty representative of his method of debating.

    Speaking of positions, perhaps you would like to defend a position that Shawn refused to touch? Regarding Romans 16:16 and two points:

    1) Romans 16:16 is one of four passages in the NT where the writer exhorts his readers to greet (or “salute”) each other with a “Holy kiss”. FOUR TIMES. And yet your church doesn’t obey this command. Why is that? My take is that it just shows your inconsistency. You’ll condemn others for not taking the Lord’s Supper each week (which isn’t even COMMANDED – and the argument can barely be made that the PATTERN is even there), but you flagrantly disobey this VERY SPECIFIC COMMAND made by Paul. Shameful.

    2) Romans 16:16 is also proof that your church doesn’t exist in the Bible any more than my own. “Church of Christ” is nowhere to be found in the NT. How can you claim exclusivity over other denominations when your own church isn’t found there? I’ll give you $1000 if you can find “church of Christ” (singular) anywhere in the NT.

    Well, faithful?

    Sola Dei Gloria,
    Nathan

  15. faithful: Why dont you pick up where Shawn droped? You seem to think you have this all fiqured out, so please come on and help us all out. Can you “faithful” prove that the Lords supper must be taken each and every Sunday? If so, come on here with Nathan and lets all see

  16. Comment by Shawn deleted by moderator

    Shawn, if you’d like to be welcomed back, just agree to have a discussion and discontinue your trolling. Otherwise, it really does look like you don’t have a leg to stand on, discussion-wise. It’s your call.

    Nathan

  17. Comment by Shawn deleted by moderator

    Shawn, if you’d like to be welcomed back, just agree to have a discussion and discontinue your trolling. Otherwise, it really does look like you don’t have a leg to stand on, discussion-wise. It’s your call.

    Nathan

  18. Come on here Shawn! You seem to fear debating on here but you sure like to come on here and chatter…so line up things on here and you and Nathan debate the Lords Supper? The few followers I was reffering to are the FEW that call in on the show…between the three men, they spend 50,000 plus a year on air time….thats seems to be a big waste or money, seeing they arent growing memebers, but losing people, and only turning people against them. If the goal were “gospel preaching” then the money would be well spent, but its not gospel at all….most of the time its like a Jerry Springer show.

    One thing: the FEW you stated isnt YOUR church of Christ DENOMINATION.

  19. Shawn I’ll debate you on anything just repley to this comment. We will do this in a orderly mannered way.

  20. David,

    Until Shawn agrees to submit to the rules of this blog, he won’t be debating anyone here. You can always ring him on his cell, it’s up there in the comment section, if you’d like to debate him.

    Would love to have his participation, but he’s not going to be playing those old tricks here. No Trolls Allowed.

    Nathan

  21. Comment by Shawn deleted by moderator

    “Acting Out”
    from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acting_out

    Acting out is a psychological term meaning to perform an action to express (often unconscious) emotional conflicts. The acting done is usually anti-social and may take the form of acting on the impulses of an addiction (ie. drinking, drug taking or shoplifting) or in a means designed (often unconsciously or semi-consciously) to garner attention (ie. throwing a tantrum or behaving promiscuously).

    The action performed is usually destructive to self or others and may inhibit the development of more constructive responses to the feelings. The term is used in sexual addiction treatment, psychotherapy, twelve-step programs, criminology and parenting.

    Acting out painful feelings may be contrasted with expressing them in ways more helpful to the sufferer, e.g. by talking out, expressive therapy, psychodrama or mindful awareness of the feelings. Developing the ability to express one’s conflicts safely and constructively is an important part of impulse control, personal development and self-care.

  22. I haven’t been able to read all the post yet but I’m looking forward to doing so. I was told about this site by Nathan on a Royse City Texas blog. Shawn has cause so much hurt and damage over on that site. I have never been to a COC church before and have a bitter taste in my mouth due to Shawn. It will be refreshing to read some truth and hopefully not be so bitter about this church.

  23. Hello LAH,

    We’re glad to have you here. Just so you know, on this blog we’ve met many folks who are members of a Church of Christ who really represent Christ well. I hope you’ll get the chance to interact with some of the while you are hanging around.

    Blessings,
    Nathan

  24. Bible states you will know them by their fruit. Of course we know the fruit of the followers of Christ are taken from Gal. 5:22-23, love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness and temperance. According to 1 John if you have not love the nou are not of God. Plain and simple. Many in that day will call Him Lord, but the Lord will respond with, “I never knew you.”

  25. Good word, Matt.

    I need to be careful of that myself, considering we are operating a blog that exists to respond to dangerous falsehoods. The temptation is to play by their rules, which I need to remember isn’t always very Christ-like (see Johnny’s debate with the LA Apostolic).

    Anyone who would like to call me on it if I cross the line, I’d appreciate it.

    Sola Dei Gloria,
    Nathan

  26. It is tempting to reach their level. I tend to think it our sin in our flesh trying to break through. But we must remember our Lord will justify. And who better than He.

  27. It has been such a challenge to resist the fleshly temptation to tell Shawn off. I had to walk away many times from my computer. I have been tear down by Shawn that I became very weak. I was reading Ps. 120
    v2 says Deliver my soul, O LORD from lying lips.
    Also in Ps. 121 I will lift up my eyes to the mountains From whence shall my help come. My help comes from the Lord.
    I want to thank you Nathan for posting on Royse City site. It truly help me.
    I’m new to Texas and had no one to express my frustrations about Shawn. It was almost unbeliverable how he operates and justified his rude actions with Scripture and compare himself to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. If you tell him that we can no longer debate about this issue due to going round and around and not getting anywhere. He replies that I’m not a Christian and am running from God.

    In His service,
    LAH or PS23LAH

  28. LAH , You can contact Al Maxey @ maxey@zianet.com – He lives in New Mexico and can direct you to some places in Texas. Don’t let Shawn get to you; this is their style and sadly how they operate. It’s about control for them and not about concern for the lost-least it seems that way. Its best to ignore them because they seem to thrive on conflict and they would be bored if they just had to preach. See, these guys love to argue/debate and they love this so much, they cant see there are souls out there needing Christ. To them its about being with them or else you are their enemy and headed to hell. Please contact Al, he will be gald to help you.

  29. It was a “straw-man debate” Johnny pretty much went 3000 miles to find someone “easy” and just as controversial as he, so that he could knock him down and make himself look good, but he underestimated Armando. The end results was Johnny lost the debate, although his doctrine was closer to scripture, he came across as the loser. He really should have let Norm debate Armando.

    Where is Jason?? 🙂

  30. edited by moderator: Shawn has been barred from this blog for the time being.

    Shawn, your posts will be edited until you agree to adhere to this blog’s standards.

    Nathan

  31. edited by moderator: Shawn has been barred from this blog for the time being.

    Shawn, your posts will be edited until you agree to adhere to this blog’s standards.

    Nathan

  32. edited by moderator: Shawn has been barred from this blog for the time being.

    Shawn, your posts will be edited until you agree to adhere to this blog’s standards.

    Nathan

  33. edited by moderator: Shawn has been barred from this blog for the time being.

    Shawn, your posts will be edited until you agree to adhere to this blog’s standards.

    Nathan

  34. Shawn wrote:

    “I am really not interested in proving Churches of Christ are wrong. I don’t think they all are.”
    Nathan the Presbyterian said.

    THANK YOU!!!

    Case closed.

    Heath

    From Nathan:

    Actually, I thought I’d leave this one up, because it shows everyone that I don’t have a beef with the “Church of Christ” in general – just a few fundamentalists.

    Nathan

    By the way, Shawn wrote “Heath” because it’s one of his many aliases over at the Topix forum. Another seems to be “Nova”.

  35. Shawn, when you’re ready to be an adult, I’ll be ready to let your comments stand.

    And, by the way, this is the kind of irritating thing that the fundamentalists really enjoy doing. Everyone can see, yes?

    Nathan

  36. “I am really not interested in proving Churches of Christ are wrong. I don’t think they all are.”
    Nathan the Presbyterian said.

    Heath

  37. “Shawn, when you’re ready to be an adult, I’ll be ready to let your comments stand.”

    Nathan, send me your picture so I can post it with my comments like you do with Johnny’s picture. That obviously is the adult thing to do.

    Shawn HEATH Paden

  38. Just a warning, I’ll troll if I jolly well feel like it.

    Warning #1 – there won’t be a second

    Call me so we can agree on debate propositions so we can debate for everyone to see on Johnny’s T.V. program.

    Those who believe and practice the truth never fear investigation or debate.

    Cell # is (214) 616-8142.
    Still waiting

  39. Nathan the Presbyterian’s contradictions.

    “Well, if anything it gives me more confidence to know that he is in error.”

    “I am really not interested in proving Churches of Christ are wrong. I don’t think they all are.”

    Consistency thou art a jewel.

    Heath

  40. Hey Nathan,
    When are you going to send you picture so I can be an adult like you and post it with my comments? I guess it will be about the same time you give me a call.

    Perhaps you can send a picture of yourself holding a baby that is being “baptized” against its will in the Presbyterian denomination. Now that’s imposing rules on people.

    Shawn HEATH Paden

  41. Shawn, let me introduce you to a little bitty adjective by the name of “all”, as in “I don’t think they ALL are.”

    It means that while some of the Churches of Christ teach error on certain points, others do not. Believe it or not, there are some things you teach about which I would agree – your doctrine regarding the Trinity, abortion, homosexuality, etc. There are many other things about which you and I (obviously) disagree. This is normal, for most folks.

    Therefore, it is not inconsistent to say the two statements you quoted.

    It IS however, inconsistent, to call yourself a Gospel evangelist and then behave in an un-Christlike manner – for example, harassment, being an irritant, being obtuse, etc. I think in the heat of our discussion, you have allowed your flesh to get the better of you. Perhaps I have, too. If so, I apologize.

    In all earnestness, I will say this – be wary before you take the Lord’s Supper this morning – remember Paul’s admonition of 1 Cor 11 – “But let a man examine himself, and so let him eat of [that] bread, and drink of [that] cup.”

    Nathan

  42. Oh my goodness! I just realized what was happening! I knew this was familiar.

    This is the same tactic that Randy mentioned in his “Dirty Tactics” blog – “Ask the same question over and over”, except in this case, it’s repeating something that your opponent said over and over. And in this case, it’s also repeating our wrong conclusion, too.

    Johnny and James do this all of the time on their programs! It’s one of the more irritating features of their broadcasts. Norm doesn’t do it, but he wouldn’t, because he’s the best of all four of you.

    In thinking of what you are trying to accomplish, I can only think that you are trying to drive me away. It’s tempting for me to just throw in the towel in frustration, but…

    it’s not going to happen.

    Sorry, Shawn! You’re stuck with me. You can consider me your thorn in the flesh (2 Co 12:7-10) if it makes you feel better about it. Again, I apologize if I let my flesh get the better of me in our prior arguments. It might happen again, but it’s a good thing that we’re saved by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8-9)!

    Nathan

  43. Nathan the Presbyterian’s contradictions.

    “Well, if anything it gives me more confidence to know that he is in error.”

    “I am really not interested in proving Churches of Christ are wrong. I don’t think they all are.”

    Consistency thou art a jewel.

    Heath

  44. Shawn’s Top Ten Questions He Won’t Answer

    REGARDING JASON
    1. On the Royse City CofC website, why do you continue to link to Jason Hairston’s website when he is no longer with your fundamentalistic POV Church of Christ denomination?
    2. On that same website, why do you have an article written by Jason Hairston, when he no longer agrees with the text of that article?
    3. Why do you not encourage Johnny Robertson to go to Jason and restore him, as believers are commanded to do in Scripture when someone “falls away”?

    NATHAN’S QUESTIONS
    4. In your church, do you practice the Biblically commanded mandate to “greet (or “salute”) one another with a holy kiss?(Rom 16:16, one of four verses) If not, why not?
    5. Why do you insist on challenging people to find their denomination in Scripture, when “Church of Christ” is nowhere to be found?

    GOOD QUESTIONS FROM ELSEWHERE:
    6. If the water pipes broke and the baptistry was bone dry, would my salvation have to wait until the plumber showed up? If I were to die before then, would I go to hell?
    7. Were you redeemed by the waters of Baptism or by the blood of Jesus Christ?
    8. Would you agree with this statement: “He that is not baptized shall be damned”?
    9. Did Christ personally, at any time or place say to anyone, “He that is not baptized shall be damned”?
    10. Is that Statement: “He that is not baptized shall be damned” found anywhere in the Bible? If so.. where?

    Shawn – care to take a stab at any of these? No? I wonder why not? Oh – because you know the answer would demonstrate the fallacy of the arguments you put out.

    Johnny, Norm or James – would you care to give them a try? Come on, guys! What are you a’feared of?

    Nathan

  45. The following is sarcasm:

    Yep. (sarcasm) I’m absolutely (sarcasm) beside myself (sarcasm) with insanity (sarcasm) over this issue.

    Did I mention that was sarcasm?

    Nathan

  46. Shawn, you really need to grow up. Stop and listen at yourself, you are quite childish at times. I do find it funny that you avoid many questions, seeing you guys claim to have every answer. You make the big bucks from the “church” to play all day on Topix. That must be a good job. I thought you were being paid to preach Christ, and never do you ever do that, but seem only to want to engage in debating.

    Where is Jason 🙂

    Tell Steven W. hello 🙂

Leave a Reply

