Norm Field’s Broadcast – November 29, 2007 – Part Deux

The Body of Christ

I think that it’s important for Norm, Johnny and James to understand the expression “the body of Christ”, and how it relates to the church.

First, Norm spoke truthfully last night when he stated that the “body of Christ” (as found in Romans 12:5, 1 Cor 12:27, & Eph 4:12) is not talking about organizations, but individuals. I’m not sure why Norm thinks that people outside his Church of Christ “assembly” disagree with this idea. Could it be because it weakens his argument that only HIS church is the “true” church?

The beautiful thing about the picture that Paul paints is that it reduces us to our one common denominator – Jesus. In the passages referenced above, Paul is using the picture of our all being a part of one body to combat disunity. That Jesus transcends our differences. How does this affect us now? Well, I am a part of the body of Christ, Norm is a part of the body of Christ, ANYONE who is in the church of Christ (universal) is a part of the body of Christ.

Of course, Norm uses Scripture to support his assertion that I am not in the church at all, and so can’t be a part of the body, but it’s simply not the case. I can justify my assertion that I AM a member of the church of Christ, even if I don’t worship at a church that has that title. See, my Presbyterian Church is a part of the church of Christ (universal). My brother’s Baptist Church is a part of the church of Christ (universal). My friend’s Methodist Church is a part of the church of Christ (universal). And what is the common denominator? JESUS, who is the head of my church, my brother’s church, and my friend’s church.

We may differ in the way that we do things, but so do the Churches of Christ! The only difference is, if a Church of Christ starts to interpret Scripture differently (for example, starts using musical instruments in worship), they are labeled apostate by the Churches of Christ, and told that they are going to hell.

How is that being true to the spirit of unity that Paul is promoting?

More to come…

4 thoughts on “Norm Field’s Broadcast – November 29, 2007 – Part Deux

  1. There is quite a bit I could comment on, but it would take up too much space. I will comment on the “Altar Call”…Norm stated this is not in the bible ( I agree ). There is not one scripture where we find sinners coming to be saved at an “Altar Call” …BUT, having attended Martinsville church of Christ, I seen at each service an “invitation song” where sinners are ask to come forward in front of the church during or after the song. Norm, what scripture do you have for an “invitation song”?? If the PATTERN is in the book of Acts, seems like Peter forgot the “invitation song” prior to them being baptized. Matter of fact, was there ever an “invitation song” prior to one being baptized?? This is something you guys have done without a pattern or specified authority. The scriptures are silent regarding an “invitation song”…

    By the way, I do not see anything wrong with an “invitation song” I am just pointing out that if another church group were to ADD something to worship not specifically authorized in the bible, the guys here would say they have sinned and are headed to hell.

  2. Most denominationalists I’ve talked with about the “body of Christ” have the idea that the universal church is composed of denominations or congregations rather than individual Christians. I’ve heard several times that the “branches” of John 15 are denominations (which is disproven by reading the entire passage, especially v. 5-6). The “body of Christ” is not a hierarchy, so to speak. An individual congregation would not be part of the universal church, though the members of it would be.

    If we’re agreed that the universal church is composed of individual Christians, then the question becomes “Who is a Christian?” I’m not a fan of the “my church can beat up your church” mentality (if that’s what these men teach; again, I have no idea if that’s the case, but that seems to be your impression, and I’ve heard others who have left me with the same) because it places the emphasis and discussion in the wrong place, IMO.

    Since I believe the Bible teaches that one has to be baptized for the remission of sins, I cannot in good conscience accept one who has not as a Christian. This doesn’t mean they’re bad people, or that I’m better than them, or anything of the sort. It simply means that they haven’t (yet) met the divinely-appointed criteria for receiving that initial forgiveness and becoming a disciple of Christ.

Leave a Reply

